May 5, 2011

Blake Griffin Named Rookie of the Year

By - Kris Fletcher

Los Angeles Clippers forward Blake Griffin has been named the NBA's Rookie of the Year.

He is the first unanimous selection for the award since David Robinson won with the San Antonio Spurs in 1990.

Photo by: Noah Graham
The high-flying rookie from Oklahoma had one of the best rookie season's in NBA history, as he averaged 22.5 points, 12.1 rebounds and 3.8 assists per game.

Griffin was the first rookie since Yao Ming in 2003 to make the All-Star team, and he even won the dunk contest All-Star weekend in front of his home fans at the Staples Center.

He is first Clippers player to win the award since the franchise moved to Los Angeles in 1984. Terry Cummings won it with the San Diego Clippers after the 1982-83 season, while Adrian Dantley, Bob McAdoo and Ernie DiGregorio won the award during a five-year stretch with the Buffalo Braves, who moved to San Diego in 1978.

1 comment: